Van Buren Township

Elected Officials
  • Rita Barrow, Trustee
  • Elected Township Board
  • John Wilson, Board President
  • Ron Pursell, Board Secretary
  • Will Smith, Board Member
  • Township Staff
  • Gary Bruce, Deputy Trustee
  • Robert LaGarde, Caseworker
  • Rachel Combs, Caseworker, Accounts Payable
  • Rebecca Jessmer, Payroll, Accounts Payable

  • Rita Barrow

    The Trustee

    The township trustee is an elected official charged with providing temporary emergency assistance to Van Buren Township residents who are experiencing an unforeseen hardship. The trustee helps with basic necessities such as rent, utilities, food, and some medical care.

    A township trustee, as administrator of township assistance, may provide and shall extend township assistance only when the personal effort of the applicant fails to provide one or more of the basic necessities. IC 12-20-16-2. Click on the forms tab to download the full assistance guidelines and an application for assistance.

    In accordance with Indiana law, the trustee adheres to Township Assistance Guidelines in determining an applicant’s eligibility. The Guidelines are posted in the trustee’s office. The Guidelines are reviewed and updated annually to reflect any changes in applicable federal and state regulations.

    Other duties include: maintenance of abandoned cemeteries, weed complaints, fence line disputes and indigent burials.

    Contact Information

    Van Buren Township Trustee
    2123 S. Kirby Rd.
    Bloomington, IN 47403
    Phone: (812) 825-4490
    Fax: (812) 825-4494

    Business hours: 8:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.,
    Monday through Friday (excluding holidays)

    View a map to our location

    Next Meeting: January 19th 2022, 5:30 pm

    Meeting Minutes